Automatically open remote files in local emacs

Andy Skelton on WordPress

I prefer to edit text locally in emacs. Most of the files I edit reside on remote servers so I use TRAMP to open remote files locally. What kills me is using emacs remotely via terminal when a shell command invokes $EDITOR (e.g. svn commit). With my new setup, the default editor on the remote machine is my local emacs. I love this.

First, I configure SSH to forward a remote port to my machine. This means that whenever the remote machine tries to connect to itself on that port (localhost:9999) it actually connects to port 9999 on my local OSX machine. I like to keep these details in my ssh_config file (my local ~/.ssh/config):

(I use abbreviated hostnames to save keystrokes. There is a matching entry in my hosts file.)

Second, I configure my local emacs to start the server and copy the server file to the remote…

View original post 145 more words

About ege's press.

Few things. I'm lizard king i can do anything. Let's start this shit. mpla mpla mpla de mas pernei gia polla. (greeklish) System learn greeklish. Learn to use your Keyboard shortcuts makes your life easier.Inside time άλλωστε... εμείς είμαστε ...
This entry was posted in Koulouvachata. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

